eaccelerator

Support/Development for PHP
krho
Forum User
Forum User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:35 am

eaccelerator

Unread post by krho »

Hi scott,

it seems that you are compiling an eaccelerator without --with-eaccelerator-doc-comment-inclusion switch. This switch is becoming more important now days as more and more users are using reflection and some metadata for it is included as phpdoc. Without the switch the applications using this type of reflection break.

Any chances of providing the eaccelerator compiled with above switch in future?

Regards,
miha
http://www.simail.si - small advanced open source e-mail client, with revolutionary automatic message classification into views.
http://xcollect.sf.net - manage your movies, tv series, games and books collections
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by scott »

what exactly does that do?
krho
Forum User
Forum User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:35 am

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by krho »

Without that switch the comments are removed from cached file.
As PHP doesn't support attributes as C# and latest Delphi versions do comments are used as attributes.

For example in doctrine 2 following comment via reflection helps to build table relations

Code: Select all

    /** @ManyToOne(targetEntity="Person")
    * @JoinColumn(name="person_id", referencedColumnName="id")
    */
  private $person; 
If eaccelerator is compiled without that switch the application relaying on the php docblocks won't work.

I hope above makes sense it's a bit difficult for me to explain that. Also this might help.

Regards,
Miha
http://www.simail.si - small advanced open source e-mail client, with revolutionary automatic message classification into views.
http://xcollect.sf.net - manage your movies, tv series, games and books collections
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by scott »

Is there a performance impact if you enable this?
krho
Forum User
Forum User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:35 am

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by krho »

Might be some as less scripts is going to fit into the same memory.

Regards,
M
http://www.simail.si - small advanced open source e-mail client, with revolutionary automatic message classification into views.
http://xcollect.sf.net - manage your movies, tv series, games and books collections
BruceLee
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: Germany

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by BruceLee »

typo3 is also "moaning" about the missing "--with-eaccelerator-doc-comment-inclusion"
it is needed for extensions based on extbase.
extbase is a new core feature from typo3 in version 4.3.X for developing easy, clean and backward compatible extensions.
dayo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:33 pm

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by dayo »

After trying to figure out why SMF was not detecting eaccelerator, I came to find out it was because the "--with-content-caching" flag seems to be missing from the compile specs as well.

Apparently used to be a default until moved to be an option.

Cheers!
RooMeat

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by RooMeat »

dayo wrote:After trying to figure out why SMF was not detecting eaccelerator, I came to find out it was because the "--with-content-caching" flag seems to be missing from the compile specs as well.

Apparently used to be a default until moved to be an option.

Cheers!
How can this be changed?? I have the same issue with SMF.

Also.. should there be lines in php.ini for this?? as I don't seem to have any.
dayo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:33 pm

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by dayo »

RooMeat wrote:How can this be changed?? I have the same issue with SMF.
Two ways

1. Best and easiest way for us: Scott recompiles the ART offering with the flag on, we type "yum upgrade php-eaccelerator" or similar and live happily ever after.
2. Alternative way: We grab the eaccelerator source code and compile it ourselves with the required flag on. Looking at the ART version spec sheet might help make it possible to simply replace the yumed version (http://www4.atomicorp.com/channels/sour ... rator.spec).

BTW, the spec sheet shows that the config items you are looking for in php.ini are actually in "%{buildroot}%{_sysconfdir}/php.d/eaccelerator.ini"
breun
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by breun »

RooMeat wrote:Also.. should there be lines in php.ini for this?? as I don't seem to have any.
PHP module packages playing nice have their configuration option in separate files under the /etc/php.d directory. Check out /etc/php.d/eaccelerator.ini for the eAccelerator settings.
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by scott »

uh fellas, there is no "--with-content-caching" flag:

Optional Packages:
--with-PACKAGE[=ARG] use PACKAGE [ARG=yes]
--without-PACKAGE do not use PACKAGE (same as --with-PACKAGE=no)
--with-libdir=NAME Look for libraries in .../NAME rather than .../lib
--with-php-config=PATH Path to php-config php-config

--without-eaccelerator-crash-detection Do not include eaccelerator crash detection
--without-eaccelerator-optimizer Do not include eaccelerator optimizer
--without-eaccelerator-info Do not compile the eAccelerator information functions
--with-eaccelerator-disassembler Include disassembler
--without-eaccelerator-use-inode Don't use inodes to determine hash keys (never used on win32)
--with-eaccelerator-debug Enable the debug code so eaccelerator logs verbose.
--with-eaccelerator-userid eAccelerator runs under this userid, only needed when using sysvipc semaphores.
--with-eaccelerator-doc-comment-inclusion If you want eAccelerator to retain doc-comments in internal php structures.
dayo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:33 pm

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by dayo »

Scott

"--with-eaccelerator-content-caching". See: http://eaccelerator.net/wiki/CompileConfiguration.

They removed it from being a default but have not yet put the replacement in. Apps such as SMF do not even see eAccelerator at all if this flag is not compiled in.

Thanks
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by scott »

So why are you bringing it up :P The feature doesnt currently exist
dayo
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:33 pm

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by dayo »

Hi Scott
It used to be activated by default before and no longer is a default that's all.

Adding the flag to the compile options will activate the feature.
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: eaccelerator

Unread post by scott »

The code is not in there. The only remnants that even reference this are the config.w32 files:

find . -name \* -exec grep -l CONTENT_CACHING {} \;
./win32/eAccelerator.dsp
./win32/eAccelerator.vcproj
./config.w32
Post Reply