How do I upgrade php version?

General Discussion of atomic repo and development projects.

Ask for help here with anything else not covered by other forums.
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

Using php 5.2.17-1.el5.art
What is the safest way for me to upgrade?
Without upgrading anything else?
CentOS release 5.8 (Final) - i686 - 2.6.18-128.2.1.el5.028stab064.8PAE
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
BruceLee
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by BruceLee »

well, basically it's not that difficult but every installation is different.
A short summary is here:
https://www.atomicorp.com/wiki/index.php/PHP

Bes thing to do in such cases is to have a test environment. I have one too.
And since you only have one server it's not like others having dozens or hundreds of different servers/configs.
I would suggest you the following.
Install VMWare Workstation(with costs) or VMWare Player (free) or SUN/Oracle VirtualBox (free)
After that you make a complete backup of your server via tar. similar to this:
mkdir backups
cd backups

Code: Select all

tar -cvpf /backups/fullbackup.tar --directory=/ --exclude=proc --exclude=sys --exclude=dev/pts --exclude=backups 
After that setup/install a vanilla virtual server the same you did with your rootserver
make a snapshot of it
and than restore/extract your backup.
Of course its not that easy.
When restoring into virtual server pay attention to the boot and harddisk related files and settings.

at the end it will pay out. :)
start with it and if you face problems just post exactly what you did and the error is.
When you test environment is setup you can try upgrading php on your testbox and see how everything is going.
ask question, get answers, test them and when everything is running in your testbox you can touch your livebox.
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

Unfortunately, I cannot complete the process above.
I operate two servers but I simply do not have the time to do things the way you indicate.
Plus, this opens doors to a world of stuff that I do not have time to learn.

I have attempted to install the atomic repo:

Code: Select all

Do you agree to these terms? (yes/no) [Default: yes] yes
Configuring the [atomic] yum archive for this system
Installing the Atomic GPG key: OK
The Atomic Rocket Turtle archive has now been installed and configured for your system
The following channels are available:
  atomic          - [ACTIVATED] - contains the stable tree of ART packages
  atomic-testing  - [DISABLED]  - contains the testing tree of ART packages
  atomic-bleeding - [DISABLED]  - contains the development tree of ART packages
But /etc/yum.repos.d does not list the atomic repo?
Last edited by webfeatus on Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

I still seem to have the same problem, as mentioned above, when attempting to install the atomic repo.

Here is my current daily output

Code: Select all

---------------------- Start Rootkit Hunter Scan ----------------------
Warning: No output found from the lsmod command or the /proc/modules file:
         /proc/modules output: 
         lsmod output: 
Warning: The kernel modules directory '/lib/modules' is missing or empty.
Warning: Found passwordless account in shadow file: atomic
Warning: Suspicious file types found in /dev:
         /dev/.udev/uevent_seqnum: ASCII text

----------------------- End Rootkit Hunter Scan -----------------------

yum update does not see any packages for php
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by scott »

Try running the installer again, I added a check to see if it was installed but removed.
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

The installer finally worked, thank you.

Now looking into his issue: https://www.atomicorp.com/forum/viewtop ... +optimizer
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
scott
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 8355
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: earth
Contact:

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by scott »

Zend Optimizer was discontinued, and it is no longer supported. You have to migrate your sites to zend loader (which requires a key).
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

Is there a command I can run which will check if any of my customers have applications running that require zend optimizer?
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
breun
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by breun »

webfeatus wrote:Unfortunately, I cannot complete the process above.
I operate two servers but I simply do not have the time to do things the way you indicate.
Plus, this opens doors to a world of stuff that I do not have time to learn.
If you care about having properly managed servers, but don't have they time to do it yourself, I'd recommend asking a good management company to take care of it. :wink:
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

Should I be concerned about these warnings received during php & mysql update?

Code: Select all

PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: ssh2: Unable to initialize module
Module compiled with module API=20060613
PHP    compiled with module API=20090626
These options need to match
 in Unknown on line 0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: dbase: Unable to initialize module
Module compiled with module API=20060613
PHP    compiled with module API=20090626
These options need to match
 in Unknown on line 0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: mysql: Unable to initialize module
Module compiled with module API=20060613
PHP    compiled with module API=20090626
These options need to match
 in Unknown on line 0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/lib/php/modules/mysqli.so' - /usr/lib/php/modules/mysqli.so: undefined symbol: php_set_error_handling in Unknown on line 0
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: pdo_mysql: Unable to initialize module
Module compiled with module API=20060613
PHP    compiled with module API=20090626
These options need to match
 in Unknown on line 0
PHP Deprecated:  Directive 'safe_mode' is deprecated in PHP 5.3 and greater in Unknown on line 0

Deprecated: Directive 'safe_mode' is deprecated in PHP 5.3 and greater in Unknown on line 0
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
breun
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by breun »

Looks like you've got some PHP modules installed (either packaged or built from source?) that were built for another PHP API version, so they won't work with your current PHP install.
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

Any advice on how I handle the problems?
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
breun
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular
Posts: 2813
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by breun »

Do you know if you built modules from source? What PHP packages do you have installed? Do you need these modules? So many questions, not too easy to help via a forum like this.
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

scott wrote:Zend Optimizer was discontinued, and it is no longer supported. You have to migrate your sites to zend loader (which requires a key).
UPGRADED:
PHP Version: 5.3.21
MYSQL Version: 5.5.29-cll

Here is one client who is going to be upset.
http://www.baliauthentique.com = OK
But a sub pages like this:
http://www.baliauthentique.com/Demandez ... ntique.php
Oh well, before the upgrade I had already commenced an email about his coding techniques.
I guess I will be adding more information to that email.

I assume that this is what you are talking about?
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
User avatar
webfeatus
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Bali

Re: How do I upgrade php version?

Unread post by webfeatus »

breun wrote:Do you know if you built modules from source? What PHP packages do you have installed? Do you need these modules?
Directive 'safe_mode' is deprecated in PHP 5.3
- Fixed

Modules:
ssh2
- I know that this is required for Plesk 11 upgrade.
- But I have no knowledge except it looks important :?
dbase
- http://php.net/manual/en/book.dbase.php
- I can ask my programmer if I need this
mysql
- What a screamer!
- I believe that I have this working to a certain degree but I am confused by this one
- ASL-WEB is broken and issue being discussed with support.
pdo_mysql
- http://php.net/manual/en/ref.pdo-mysql.php
- I can ask my programmer if I need this
Dynamic Library:
/usr/lib/php/modules/mysqli.so
- exists on the the server
- /usr/lib/php/modules/mysqli.so is the correct location
- reference from my php.ini

Code: Select all

[MySQLi]

; Maximum number of links.  -1 means no limit.
mysqli.max_links = -1

; Default port number for mysqli_connect().  If unset, mysqli_connect() will use
; the $MYSQL_TCP_PORT or the mysql-tcp entry in /etc/services or the
; compile-time value defined MYSQL_PORT (in that order).  Win32 will only look
; at MYSQL_PORT.
mysqli.default_port = 3306

; Default socket name for local MySQL connects.  If empty, uses the built-in
; MySQL defaults.
mysqli.default_socket =

; Default host for mysql_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
mysqli.default_host =

; Default user for mysql_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
mysqli.default_user =

; Default password for mysqli_connect() (doesn't apply in safe mode).
; Note that this is generally a *bad* idea to store passwords in this file.
; *Any* user with PHP access can run 'echo get_cfg_var("mysqli.default_pw")
; and reveal this password!  And of course, any users with read access to this
; file will be able to reveal the password as well.
mysqli.default_pw =

; Allow or prevent reconnect
mysqli.reconnect = Off
They say that good intentions, pave the road to hell;
If a thing is not worth doing, it's not worth doing well.
Post Reply