Atomicorp down?

Customer support forums for the modsecurity rules feed. There is no such thing as a bad question here as long as it pertains to using the real time modsecurity rules feed. Newbies feel free to get help getting started or asking questions that may be obvious.
jonas21
New Forum User
New Forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:59 am

Atomicorp down?

Unread post by jonas21 »

Hello,

our WAF/AUM cant reach atomicorp anymore. Also https://updates.atomicorp.com (both v4+v6) is apparently down, we are getting timeouts on port 443.
Tried from different ISPs/datacenters, totally unreachable. Also it appears our Plesk servers with atomicorp WAF ruleset cant update anymore and start hanging while updating. Apparently they try to contact lb1/lb2.atomicorp.com who (by their IP) apparently are both in the same (OVH) datacenter in canada. From the name i assume they are loadbalancers....but why would you host both in the same datacenter? Wheres the redundancy?

-Jonas

-
User avatar
cponton
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:41 am

Re: Atomicorp down?

Unread post by cponton »

Hi Jonas,

Yes the update server was unreachable for a time. It has been corrected. We apologize for the trouble!
jonas21
New Forum User
New Forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:59 am

Re: Atomicorp down?

Unread post by jonas21 »

Thanks, we can reach them again. Any plans to get some redundancy? IMHO they should be hosted in atleast 2 different datacenters...this is a big single point of failure.
User avatar
mikeshinn
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Posts: 4148
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Chantilly, VA

Re: Atomicorp down?

Unread post by mikeshinn »

Its actually hosted in three different data centers (on two different continents), this issue occurred when we add ipv6 support to the load balancers and the VLANs did not propagate the IPv4 networks as well due to a bug in the VLAN software. The systems have been updated and the issue should not occur again.
Post Reply