Managing Rules with AUM for rules only accounts

Customer support forums for the modsecurity rules feed. There is no such thing as a bad question here as long as it pertains to using the real time modsecurity rules feed. Newbies feel free to get help getting started or asking questions that may be obvious.
kirkre
Forum User
Forum User

Managing Rules with AUM for rules only accounts

Unread post by kirkre »

I'm new to AUM and used to managing rule sets manually. First question I have that I can't find the answer to, the default 00_mod_security.conf installed by AUM loads all rule sets including for instance 99_asl_a_redactor.conf, which according to the description in the WAF rule families wiki should not be loaded if you are not using ASL. Is it intended that the user must remove "*asl*.conf" from 00_mod_security.conf and instead load rules individually with rules only accounts? Since AUM is normally used with ASL this could be logical, but the documentation does not mention this that I can see.

Second question, is there any capability to exclude rule sets? I'm used to excluding individual rules via 999_user_exclude.conf, but I can't help wondering if entire rule sets/families can be excluded also in this file? Of course even if this did work it might not be a good idea if AUM is only intended to update, not manage rules on a non ASL system, but if all rule sets loaded by AUM are intended to be enabled on a system, whether ASL is present or not, then I am thinking that excluding rule sets might be better than only loading specific sets, because then AUM could load a new rule family as it was released, without manual intervention. It might be better to find out a new rule set was loaded even via a false positive, than find out after the fact that a new rule set would have protected the system! I will probably want to exclude some families either way, so if AUM is intended to manage rules, the ability to exclude entire families would be nice.

Thanks,

Kirk