PHP 5.3.x from 5.1.6 on Plesk

Support/Development for PHP
KrazyBob
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

PHP 5.3.x from 5.1.6 on Plesk

Unread post by KrazyBob »

I am about to upgrade PHP from 5.1.6 to 5.3.x and I know of numerous horror stories. I have the Atomic installer and Plesk 9.x on these servers. Are there any hidden gotchas to consider? I will also be upgrading MySQL while I'm at it and that has always been fun even when following directions. I learned that I have to stop MySQL first, run the Plesk update, disable Berkley, restart Pleskyada, yada, yada. Again, any hidden gotchas? I don't like upgrading production servers. Seldom something goes sideways.

I'm sorry to sound like a total noob but I live out of a hospital with an ill child, I'm tired and burned out, and frankly don't want to screw with updating 25 servers.

But it has to be done.
breun
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Re: PHP 5.3.x from 5.1.6 on Plesk

Unread post by breun »

KrazyBob wrote:I am about to upgrade PHP from 5.1.6 to 5.3.x and I know of numerous horror stories. I have the Atomic installer and Plesk 9.x on these servers. Are there any hidden gotchas to consider?
Make sure that you know about the non-hidden gotchas: http://www.php.net/migration53
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management
Highland
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Unread post by Highland »

There's a wiki page on Mysql
http://www.atomicorp.com/wiki/index.php/Mysql

I've not had any issues with PHP packages and upgrading but definitely heed breun's cautions. If you use stock open source programs (like Wordpress) you shouldn't have any issues.

Hope your child gets well.
"Its not a mac. I run linux... I'm actually cool." - scott
faris
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Unread post by faris »

I learned that I have to stop MySQL first