Page 1 of 2

PHP 5.2.6 Library Issue

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:31 pm
by Snapdragon
I wasn't getting this yesterday when using 5.1.6 from centosplus. Now that I'm using ART PHP 5.2.6, this comes up in phpMyAdmin:

Code: Select all

Your PHP MySQL library version 4.1.22 differs from your MySQL server version 5.0.58. This may cause unpredictable behavior.
Suggestions?

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:56 pm
by Kalimari
This has been discussed on this forum before, see: http://atomicrocketturtle.com/forum/vie ... php?t=1793
My phpMyAdmin reports the same...

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:35 pm
by Snapdragon
Whoops, missed that one.

What I don't understand is it wasn't a problem with 5.1.6, why would it be with 5.2.6, or is it just because I'm using ART and not centosplus anymore, and Scott maintains mysql 4 compatibility?

Some of my clients are going to freak out.. what is the proper way to remove 5.2.6 and go back to 5.1.6, or, can I do the suggested rebuild of PHP against the mysql5 libraries?

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:33 am
by breun
The CentOS Plus packages are built against the newer library. You can do the rebuild or go back to CentOS Plus if you want.

If you want to go back to Cent Plus the basic idea is downloading the RPMS from CentOS Plus and installing them using 'rpm -Uvh --oldpackage php*.rpm' and then excluding the packages from ART or disabling ART altogether if you don't want any ART packages anymore.

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:54 am
by scott
I'll link it against 5 if you promise to handle all the support requests for people who want it linked against 4.

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:54 pm
by Snapdragon
Heh.
Even when I went back to 5.1.6 just to peek it still whined, but that makes sense, from what I've read since then.

It's just that PHP isn't putting the new mysqlclient in their builds anymore due to a conflict with the MySQL GPL based licence vs. the PHP BSD based licence.

So we can still recompile PHP with the new client.

Is there a quick and dirty way to do this with the ART package 5.2.6 installed already, can I just run a ./configure --with-mysql somewhere?

Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:10 am
by scott
Yep:

rpmbuild --rebuild <src rpm name>

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:09 pm
by Snapdragon
Alright, this shows my noobness.. I don't have an rpmbuild command, nor does yum want to install one. :oops:

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:37 pm
by scott
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:14 pm
by breun
The rpmbuild binary is part of the package called rpm-build. (See the output of 'yum whatprovides /usr/bin/rpmbuild'.)

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:01 pm
by Snapdragon
scott wrote:yum groupinstall "Development Tools"

Code: Select all

Install    190 Package(s)
Update       0 Package(s)
Remove       0 Package(s)
Total download size: 186 M

Umm.. so my problem was I need yum install rpm-build not rpmbuild. :lol: 497k later I'm good to go.

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:22 pm
by breun
If you're regularly build packages and things like that you'll find yourself constantly installing more -devel and other development related packages. In that case it makes sense to just groupinstall the development tools.

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:51 pm
by Snapdragon
Naw, it's rare. I don't like to mess with the production box. As I mentioned before, it ran for almost 500 days without being messed with. Of course, I did yum updates and what not, but when it comes to changing major versions of MySQL and PHP.. tends to break sites and clients get all up in arms.

Only because I took on a new job running a data center, I decided to move the box over here. So I upgraded the software, dropped in more memory, added another processor. Sure, why not.. the box already weighs 110 lbs..

Image

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:18 am
by Highland
Well it's a Dell. What did you expect? :P I have a SC440 here in our office and it weighs a ton for what little hardware it has.

Interesting server names, btw.

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:15 am
by Snapdragon
Nothing wrong with it being a Dell. I love it.