updating to plesk 11

Community support for Plesk, CPanel, WebMin and others with insight from two of the founders of Plesk. Ask for help here! No question is too simple or complicated. :-)
mist_firefly
Forum User
Forum User

updating to plesk 11

Unread post by mist_firefly »

We currently work on plesk 10 and we have done all the new updates from yum. We don't use custom themes and we don't have the Business and Customer Manager installed (as far as I've seen ..is there any way to check? )

I read the notes at:
http://download1.parallels.com/Plesk/PP ... ed-os.html

1. are there any other things I should know? I am very new at this(almost everything server related) and I want to be able to do this update without causing any problems to our clients that have domain hosting and emails on our server.
2. Do I just need to go on the control panel at Updates and Upgrades and then Install of Upgrade product and follow from there? Is there anything else I would need to do in putty/ command line?
3. Can I monitor what's happening by any other means?
4. Is there a step by step installation guide somewhere?
5. If something goes wrong how could I get back to the plesk 10 without loosing client data?
6. How long would the update take? Are the domain/ emails going to be down for that period of time?

Thanks any help would be greatly appreciated (even just links to more research, basic things I should know )
mist_firefly
Forum User
Forum User

Re: updating to plesk 11

Unread post by mist_firefly »

Could anybody offer some advice on this please?

What could go wrong?
Should I backup all server first? How?
faris
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Re: updating to plesk 11

Unread post by faris »

Have a look here before you start http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=209652
Not all (or even any) of the reported problem may apply. It is just going to be a list of things you need to check.

Also here: http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=245980